Using the Library
Click on a heading to see more information about each topic.
Access Library Account
Access your account here to place holds, see what you have checked out, and more.
Getting a Library Card
Visit any Georgia PINES library location for a library card. Locations in Meriwether, Talbot, Taylor and Upson counties can be found here. Other PINES locations can be found here.
An applicant for a new card is required to provide proper ID, which includes current, local address.
Acceptable ID for receiving a PINES card (3 choices):
- Photo ID which shows the applicant’s current local address
- Photo ID which does not include current local address plus one item from the list of acceptable address verification documents
- TWO (2) items from the list of acceptable address verification documents.
Acceptable Photo ID:
- Valid driver’s license
- Valid passport
- Valid US Military ID
- Valid matricula consular
- Valid Georgia Weapons Carry License
Acceptable Address Verification Documents (must show applicant’s name and current address):
- Valid Georgia voter registration card
- Recent utility bill (e.g., gas, electric, cable, internet, water/sewer, waste management)
- Recent tax receipt or other piece of mail that shows the user’s name and present address
- Recent pay stub
- Current lease/rental agreement
- County tax assessor records
- Official base assignment documentation (for current military and family members)
If applicant resides out of state, but works, goes to school, or owns property in Georgia, then applicant must show supporting documentation in order to obtain a “Patron” card at no charge (as opposed to an “Out of State” card which incurs a fee).
Original documents are required with the exception of utility bills: because many people now pay their utility bills online and no longer receive them on paper, patrons may present their online bill or statement on their mobile device or printed from their utility’s web site [2015.12].
- Library cards are free to all residents of Georgia. Persons who attend school, own property or are employed full-time in Georgia are eligible for a free PINES card. Patrons of both PINES and non-participating Georgia public libraries may receive a PINES card. Users from non-participating Georgia libraries shall have the same privileges as PINES users. Most PINES cards are valid for 2 years [1999.05].
- Property owners who do not reside in Georgia are required to show proof of Georgia property ownership, such as a tax bill or deed. Non-Georgia residents who are employed in Georgia or attending school in Georgia are required to show proof of that employment or enrollment.
- Out-of-state cards are available to persons living outside Georgia who do not meet the above criteria for a $25 annual fee, payable at the time the card is issued. A temporary card is available for a $12.50 fee and is valid for 6 months.
- Signing a PINES card application denotes acceptance of responsibility for all fines and fees for lost or damaged materials.
- There is no minimum age for a child to receive a PINES card. A parent or legal guardian may register a child [1999.05]. Parent or legal guardian must show proper ID to register a child. A parent or legal guardian must sign the application for all children under 18. Signing a child’s PINES card application denotes acceptance of responsibility for all fines, lost or damaged materials.
Getting a Digital Library Card
Digital library cards are available at gapines.org for people who reside, work or go to school in Georgia. If you wish to apply for an out-of-state card, please contact a library. Digital library cards will give access to digital resources, such as Libby and GALILEO. In order to check out materials from a library, visit a library to get a physical card.
Fines and Fees
|Overdue Book||$0.20 per day, up to $10 per item|
|Overdue Movie||$0.50 per day, up to $10 per item|
|Overdue Chromebook||$50 per day|
|Overdue PINES Material (not owned by PMRLS)||$0.50 per day, up to $10 per item|
|Lost or Damaged (if cannot be repaired) Material||Value of item, plus $5 processing fee and any overdue fines|
|Damaged Material||$1.50 per item|
|Lost Movie||Cost of item, plus $5 processing fee|
|Lost Chromebook||Cost of item. (Current Chromebooks are $250, as of 9/22/22)|
|Replace Damaged Barcode||$1.00|
|Temporary Card||$12.50 for six months|
|Damaged DVD Case||$1.50|
Once a PINES patron reaches (or surpasses) $10.00 in fines and fees, the patron’s account is automatically blocked. The patron will be unable to check out or renew items until the total amount owed on his or her account drops below $10.00.
Depending on which local library system the patron uses, the patron might also lose access to public computers and downloadable ebooks/audiobooks. There is no maximum limit on how high a patron’s bills might go.
Fines in the PINES library system in Georgia may depending upon the regional library system, due to different policies that various systems may have chosen.
Borrowing and Renewing Materials
A patron must present a card in good standing to borrow materials. A patron’s card will be blocked, and no services may be obtained with it if the patron has 10 or more overdue items, or owes $10 or more in unpaid fines and/or fees. Delinquent borrowers who have not reached these limits may still borrow materials; the system operator will be notified that the patron is delinquent.
In most cases, a maximum of 50 items may be charged simultaneously on a PINES card. Due to popular demand, there is a limit on how many DVDs or videos that you may check out at one time. This number varies at PINES locations.
Most materials may be renewed twice for 14 days, if there are no reserves on them. Book and audiobook renewal can be done in person, by phone, or online. DVDs and Chromebooks cannot be renewed.
|Material||Loan Period||Item Limit||Number of renewals|
|Magazines (back issues)||14 days||50||2|
Requesting Materials and Holds
Items that are currently checked out or that are available at other PINES locations may be requested and sent to your local library when they are available. You can place holds on these materials in person, over the phone, or online. Some items are not available for holds from other locations, including new materials. For help using the online catalog, visit the PINES Frequently Asked Questions.
A maximum of 10 holds may be placed per account. Holds must be checked out within 7 days of becoming available. You will be notified via telephone call, text or email once the hold is available.
Your account must be in good standing to place a hold.